Shrewsbury School

The Governing Body – welcomes and farewells

Thursday 9 January 2014

Above l to r: Richard Burbidge, Matthew Collins, Lyndsey Pollard

At the end of last term the School Governors gave a dinner for Richard Burbidge, who retired as Chairman of the Governing Body in December 2013. On behalf of the School, they paid tribute to his hard work, leadership and the numerous achievements that have been accomplished during his time in office. Richard will continue to serve on the Board, particularly as Chairman of the International Development Committee.

He has been succeeded as Chairman of Governors by Matthew Collins, who has been a Governor since 2008. Matthew is a Cambridge history graduate and is a partner of Hutton Collins & Company, which manages private equity funds on behalf of institutional clients. As father of four former pupils at the School – Will (S 2002-07), Charles (S 2004-09), Alex (S 2006-11) and Rob (S 2006-11) he is well placed to both appreciate and support Shrewsbury from a parent’s perspective.

Lyndsey Pollard has been appointed as Deputy Chairman of Governors. Originally from Yorkshire, Lyndsey moved to Shrewsbury in 1986 to join Hatchers solicitors. She has recently been appointed as Company Secretary and Group Solicitor for one of Shropshire’s best known family companies, Morris & Company. She is also a member of the Board of Management of the Shewsy, the School’s youth club in Everton.

Above l to r: Carla Howarth, Diana Flint

We are delighted to welcome two new Governors. Carla Howarth, mother of Gessica (MSH 2008-10) and Ben Howarth (SH 2009-13) holds a first degree in Law, a Masters degree in Criminology and is a qualified barrister. She has worked in the criminal court systems as a Senior Lecturer at the City University of Hong Kong and is currently the Managing Director of a global training and education consultancy.

Diana Flint is also joining the Board. As Deputy Lieutenant for Shropshire and High Sheriff 2013-14, Diana is well known to many people in the county. Among her many distinguished achievements, she was the very first girl at Ellesmere College. She is therefore well placed to advise us as we look forward to welcoming our first group of Third Form girls in September.

Above l to r: Andrew Haining, Sir Algernon Heber-Percy

The Governing Body bade a sad but grateful farewell to two retiring Governors at the end of 2013. Andrew Haining (O 1972-77, Deputy Head of School and Captain of Fives) served as a Governor for 13 years. We are indebted to him for the countless hours of his time and expertise that he has given to the School.

We are also very grateful to Algernon Heber-Percy, Lord Lieutenant of Shropshire, for all his work and support as a Governor over the last ten years. We offer him our congratulations on his award of a Knighthood, announced in the Queen’s New Year Honours. He has become a member of the Royal Victorian Order, KCVO, which recognises distinguished personal service to the Royal Family.

Profiles of all the School's Governors may be found elsewhere on the website under the Welcome & News tab on the Home Page or by clicking on this link: Governing Body Members' Details

back to top