Shrewsbury School

Hawksley-Burbury Science Competition 2019

Friday 29 March 2019

The Hawksley-Burbury Science Competition is our annual Practical Science competition and is open to any scientist in the Fifth and Sixth Forms, testing skills of observation and scientific deduction.

The competition is named after Samuel Hawksley-Burbury (OS 1848-50), a former Head of School who went on to become a Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS).

It consists of three sections (Biology, Chemistry and Physics) in each of which candidates are set a number of short tasks requiring careful observation and analysis.

It is not necessary to be studying these subjects at AS or A2 level to take part, as the competition does not require specialised knowledge.


Twenty-two students and Deputy Head (Academic) Mr Walters (with the help of his son) took part in this year’s competition.

Overall winner:  Mohan Sun (SH L6)

Prox accessit (Joint):  Chris Beard (Rb 5) and Jude Huffer (Rb L6)

Individual practical winners:
    Biology:  Mohan Sun (SH L6)
    Chemistry:  Kawthar AlNoaimi (M L6)
    Physics:  Jude Huffer (Rb L6)

Mohan will be presented with his prize at the Academic Prizegiving during Speech Day at the end of the Summer Term.

Dr Andrew Briggs
Head of Science

back to top