Shrewsbury School

School Firsts - Lent 2014 awards

Friday 28 March 2014

Awarded to pupils during the final School Assembly of the Lent Term.

Each term a committee of Sixth Form pupils meets to award the School’s highest form of ‘colours’ – a ‘School First’. The committee members take their work seriously, for two main reasons: firstly, this is a good example of pupil power – while teachers may make nominations, it is only those ten or so Upper Sixth pupils sitting on the committee who have the power to vote; secondly, to retain the value of the ‘School First’, precious few are handed out.

Nowadays School Firsts have been split into two types: sporting and non-sporting. Below is a list of those pupils who have this term been given the coveted award for their exceptional contributions to School life across a wide spectrum of non-sporting activities.

For their unstinting work on behalf of the Charities’ Commitee:
Charlie Gillow and Erika Osade

For their commitment to and success in MUN:
Jonty Small, Amelia Woodruff, Guy Cabral and Sasha Arridge

For longstanding and exceptional contributions to and leadership of the Beekeeping Society:
Daniel Lo

For their longstanding contributions to the musical life of the School:
Andrew Spicer, Eric Cheng, Joe Bell,  Alan Yu and Michael Cheng

For outstanding leadership of  and commitment to the RAF section of the CCF:
Chris Papaioannou

back to top